Notaries may not notarize a document in which a spouse is named or directly benefits from.... read more ›
- 18 years of age or older.
- Resident of Oregon or have a place of employment or practice in this state.
- Able to read and write English.
- Never had a notary public commission revoked during the 10-year period preceding the application date.
- Completed a notary training course within the last 6 months.
“In California, a notary public is not prohibited from notarizing for relatives or others, unless doing so would provide a direct financial or beneficial interest to the notary public. With California's community property law, care should be exercised if notarizing for a spouse or a domestic partner.”... see more ›
A notary public shall not charge, attempt to charge, or receive a notary fee that is more than $10 per notarial act: $10 for taking an acknowledgement. $10 for taking a verification upon an oath or affirmation. $10 for certifying a copy of a document. $10 for witnessing or attesting a signature.... see more ›
The short answer is yes, notary publics are legally allowed to notarize documents from any state as long the notarial act is conducted within the geographical boundaries of the notary's state of commission.... see more ›
To obtain this type of certification, the individual who signed the document (known as the “signatory”) must present the signed document to a notary public, with the notarial certificate attached, and declare that it was signed and executed of their own free will.... see more ›
Complete a 3 hour Notary training course (not required for current Notaries with an active commission at the time the new application is received in our office.)... continue reading ›
Avoid Notarizing for Family Members
Aside from the financial interest issue, a Florida notary is prohibited from notarizing the signature of a close family member.... see details ›
No, you may not notarize for a spouse or sibling in Michigan, regardless of their employment status. “A notary public shall not perform a notarial act for a spouse, lineal ancestor, lineal descendent, or sibling including in-laws, steps, or half-relatives” (MCL 55.291).... see details ›
Updated 1-16-18. Pennsylvania prohibits notarizing for a spouse, but does not address the issue of notarizing for parents.... see details ›
In order to notarize a document, the signing individual(s) must appear in person before the notary and prove their identity. The notary will then review the documents, review the signatures of the signer(s), and complete the acknowledgment form to finalize the process.... read more ›
Oregon's Secretary of State has revised the state's statutes to allow Notaries to charge higher fees, increasing the allowable charge for most notarial acts to $10.... see more ›
You must store your notarial journal for ten years after the last act noted in the journal. If you have a letter of retention agreement with your employer, the employer must store your journal for ten years after the date of your last notarization.... continue reading ›
Oregon Notary Public requirements:
No notary public commission revocation within the last 10 years of this application date. No conviction of a felony or crime involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit within the last 10 years of this application date.... see more ›
How To Become A Notary Loan Signing Agent In Oregon - YouTube... view details ›
Vital Records: Birth, Death And Marriage Certificates
As a general rule, Notaries cannot certify copies of birth, death or marriage certificates because these documents are vital records — public records that cannot be certified by a Notary Public.... continue reading ›
Am I required to be bonded or have liability (errors and omissions) insurance? Oregon does not require its notaries public to be bonded or to have liability insurance. This is left to the discretion of the notary public.... read more ›